RSB Governance

TwitterLinkedInFacebookGoogle GmailGoogle BookmarksShare

RSB members are organised into seven Chambers that elect the governing body of the organisation – the Assembly of Delegates. The Assembly appoints a Board of Directors to provide oversight to the Secretariat which is responsible for the day-to-day running of the organisation.

Membership Chambers represent different sectors of business, civil society, trade unions, government, academia and multi-lateral organisations. The chambers elect representatives to the Assembly of Delegates and Board of Directors.

Business Chambers
1. Biomass producers
2. Biofuel and biomaterial producers
3. Retailers, users and investors

Civil Society Chambers
4. Trade unions and rights-based NGOs
5. Social development NGOs
6. Environmental NGOs

Government and research Chamber
7. Government, multi-lateral organisations, and academia

The Assembly of Delegates is the highest decision-making body of the Roundtable on Sustainable Biomaterials. Each RSB Chamber elects up to three Delegates, thus giving each chamber the same weight and influence in decision making. The Assembly approves modifications to the standard and appoints the Board of Directors to run the affairs of the RSB.

The Board of Directors is responsible for the management of the RSB and represents the Association towards third parties. It appoints the Executive Director to run the Secretariat and sets the organisation’s strategy. Each Chamber elects a Director to the Board of Directors. Directors serve in a personal capacity, and do not represent their company or sector.

The RSB Secretariat is based in Geneva, Switzerland. It runs the process to develop and revise the RSB standard and promotes certification. For further details see the 2016 RSB Standards Development Workplan and staff.

The RSB’s Articles of Association provide more details on the roles of each of these bodies.

For information on Stakeholder Mapping, view our page here.

RSB governance diagram